Goodbye 2016… Hello 2017

“The new year stands before us, like a chapter in a book, waiting to be written.  We can help write that story by setting goals” Melody Beattie…

 

So New Years in on Sunday, it’s strange right? How the year had flown by so quickly… I remember the 1st of January 2016 like it was just yesterday, wishing everyone ‘happy new year’, setting goals and new years resolutions…

I know it may sound cliché but yes I had new years resolutions, however, I may not have fulfilled it all or even remembered it all but I made new years resolutions.

It’s funny how life plays out, you plan and plan sometimes and things don’t always work according to your plans: That is one of the biggest lessons for me in 2016, your plans don’t always work out. However that doesn’t mean greater isn’t coming, it just means that that plan may not have been the best for us or sometimes we may not be in control of that situation.

Which brings me to the next thing I’ve learnt this year, control. I’ve always worried when I’m not in control or I can’t control situations. I know at some point we’ve all had that problem of freaking out when we can’t control certain things. Nonetheless, I’ve learnt that God is in control if you allow him to be in control. He is well, alive and ready to take control of all your situations and circumstances. “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.”  Jeremiah 29:11

As believers, we sometimes struggle with trusting God wholeheartedly and letting him take control. We depend so much on the physical and our abilities that we somehow forget that God is the creator of heaven and earth and can and will do all things, only if you accept, trust and allow him to do his work. “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”  Isaiah 41:10

Although I have learnt a lot more, however, these are one of the most important things I’ve learnt this year, as well as valuing myself more, believing in myself and taking more risks.

I must say I have certainly taken a lot more risks this year, like moving to the Netherlands to study, starting a YouTube channel and starting this blog.

I also graduated this year too.

Although this year did have its ups and downs, nevertheless I am grateful to God that I alive to witness the end of this year.

I am ready to start the new year with an open mind ready to take on anything by the grace of God.

It is always great to reflect and see how much you’ve improved. It may hard sometimes to keep track or to appreciate where you’ve started from because sometimes we get distracted. But do take that time to reflect on the good and the bad and see how you have improved and how you can improve. Moreover, it is always a great idea to set goals for the new year, take more risks and to take things one step at a time.

So I wish you all a great new year and happy holidays,

Until next time,

Stay Blessed,

Tosin xo

 

2 thoughts on “Goodbye 2016… Hello 2017

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

